Sunday, December 30, 2018

That's a Wrap on 2018



2018 comes to a close. It was a good sculpture year for me. I began series of Smiley Faces, Shell Sculptures, and Fetishes. I wish I could be working in the studio full-time, but my reality is that an hour a day is my current production. Still, things are getting done. Here is the start of the next Shell Sculpture, and I have six or seven other little things started. 2019 is exciting. Art-making is exciting!

Thursday, December 27, 2018

Fetish No. 3

olmec_fetish

Dean Hanmer
Fetish No. 3
2018
plaster over steel
5 x 1.5 inches

Wednesday, December 26, 2018

Fetish No. 1

olmec_fetish

Dean Hanmer
Fetish No. 1
2018
plaster over steel
5 x 1.5 inches

Saturday, December 22, 2018

Another Shell Sculpture

dean_hanmer

Dean Hanmer
Shell Sculpture
2018
Plaster over steel, shell from Florida

Friday, December 21, 2018

Another Masterpiece Finished

dean_hanmer

Dean Hanmer
Shell Sculpture
2018
Plaster over steel, glass, shell from Florida

Thursday, December 20, 2018

Artist with a Night Job



If there is little money in making art, at least I can drive the bus.

Wednesday, December 19, 2018

Monday, December 17, 2018

Planter Head and Artist



A friend, who had a booth opposite me, took this photo. It's a few years old, but still quite funny.

Sunday, December 16, 2018

Color, Texture, Expression



Here's a close-up of a five year-old sculpture, which lives outside. Looks just like the day I finished it.

Saturday, December 15, 2018

Odilon Redon



Odilon Redon
Figure Holding a Winged Head
1876

It took me four months, but I just finished my monogram of the French painter, Odilon Redon. This painting, Figure Holding a Winged Head, will be the inspiration for my next painting, and maybe a sculpture, too.

Friday, December 14, 2018

Dr. Charles Smith






















As good as it gets, for me; art by Dr. Charles Smith (born 1940). Still working or not, I don't know.

Thursday, December 13, 2018

A Painting with No Name



Dean Hanmer
A Painting with No Name
Acrylic on cardboard
3 x 2 in.

Wednesday, December 12, 2018

Sculpture in the Kitchen Cabinet



This sculpture lives in a kitchen cabinet. Why I put it there, I can't imagine, but that's where it's going to stay.

Tuesday, December 11, 2018

Critter Looking In



The neighborhood critters like looking in on me; see what I'm working on. The Smiley Faces do not deter them!

Monday, December 10, 2018

Sunday, December 9, 2018

Saturday, December 8, 2018

Smiley Face No. 21

dean hanmer sculpture

Dean Hanmer
Smiley Face No. 21
Plaster over steel, glass, agate, mirror, acrylic paint, used paint brush

Friday, December 7, 2018

Armature



It's cold in the Sculpture Shed, so I'm at least doing my wire work indoors. The next sculpture is taking shape. It all starts with the wire; soon to be covered in plaster.

Thursday, December 6, 2018

Smiley Face No. 22



Dean Hanmer
Smiley Face No. 22
plaster over steel, glass, used paintbrush

Wednesday, December 5, 2018

Smiley Face No. 18





Dean Hanmer
Smiley Face No. 18
plaster over steel, ceramic, used paintbrush

Tuesday, December 4, 2018

The Kiss



Reenacting famous sculptures with Lady Janet on Date Number Two.  Positioning for "The Kiss" by Constantine Brancusi.

Monday, December 3, 2018

Beverly Pepper



Persephone Unbound by Beverly Pepper at the Seattle Sculpture Garden. It looks like concrete, but it's bronze. Still my favorite sculpture in this collection.

Sunday, December 2, 2018

Florida Shell Sculptures



Here are the first two sculptures using shells from my visit to Florida. Can't wait to make more. I think this vacation now qualifies as a tax deduction!

Saturday, December 1, 2018

The Sun Bather



Dean Hanmer
The Sun Bather
2018
Plaster over steel, rose quartz heart
26 Inches tall